Skip to content

What’s this bit?

August 25, 2013

Another few hours on the car, mostly spent sifting through the pile of bits that I inherited when I bought my project, working out what I can sell to other builders to add to the project funds/help them out and what I need to cling onto myself…

Looks like I can spare a differential, drive shafts and rear hubs/carriers, some diff mounting brackets, a couple of propshafts and a steering column and wheel… Hopefully a fellow builder will be able to put them to good use!

I also packaged up a front frame for the chassis which I had inherited – ready to post off to another builder.

With the floor now fully cut out I was able to flip the chassis upright again (without snapping off a headlamp mount this time) – and begin to shift the engine/gearbox back across to offer it up to allow for the fabrication of the engine mounts. At which point wife and child both ran out of patience, after a long afternoon sitting in the garden watching me faff about, and I drew stumps. Little steps forward though…

Engine, meet chassis….

Welding day is set for 7th Sept – and I want to get as much stuff covered that day as possible – so hopefully the next update will be that i’ve got the engine in situ and made the mounts! Thinking of a title for this post did however remind me how easy it is to get down to the garage, have a bit of a faff about, and not really achieve too much, let’s hope that’s more the exception than the rule…

Floor and rear bulkhead in situ.

From → Building, Stripping

One Comment
  1. Dad permalink

    Not a bad attempt at a Mo in the shadow, perhaps more Faffing needed

Leave a comment